The Ultimate Guide To Asheville and the Western North Carolina Mountains
Relocation Guide to Asheville



Susanna Pantas, Artist



Links to Websites of
Western North Carolina Cities & Towns

Andrews Chimney Rock Hayesville Mars Hill Spruce Pine
Asheville Claremont Hendersonville Marshall Sugar Mountain
Bakersville Clyde Hickory Morganton Sylva
Banner Elk Columbus Highlands Murphy Tryon
Beech Mountain Connelly Springs Hildebran Newland Valdese
Black Mountain Conover Hot Springs Newton Valle Crucis
Blowing Rock Cullowhee Hudson North Wilkesboro Waynesville
Boone Dillsboro Jefferson Old Fort Weaverville
Brevard Drexel Lake Lure Robbinsville West Jefferson
Bryson City Flat Rock Lenoir Rutherford College Wilkesboro
Burnsville Fletcher Little Switzerland Rutherfordton Woodfin
Canton Forest City Long View Saluda  
Cashiers Franklin Maggie Valley Sawmills  
Catawba Glen Alpine Maiden Sparta  
Cherokee Granite Falls Marion Spindale  

   Western North Carolina, the region of North Carolina that includes the Appalachian Mountains, is blessed with towering verdant mountains, lovely gentle valleys, flower-filled coves, virgin stands of untouched forest, crystal clear lakes and streams, and vibrant cities and towns. The mountains are generally separated into four distinct zones or regions. The Western Mountains, extending from Andrews and Murphy in the far western corner to Waynesville, the Central Mountains from Waynesville through Asheville to the Burnsville area, the Northern Mountains from Burnsville to Sparta, and the Foothills, extending along the full length of the mountains from Columbus to North Wilkesboro.
    The major cities with populations over 10,000 are Asheville (92,000), Boone (20,000), Hendersonville (14,000), Hickory (41,000), Lenoir (18,000), Morganton (16,500), Newton (13,000) and Waynesville (10,000).
    More in-depth information, including places to stay, restaurants and attractions in the cities and towns of Western North Carolina is found in my best-selling guidebook The Ultimate Guide To Asheville & the Western North Carolina Mountains, available on Amazon.

     Tourism is the major industry in Western North Carolina, with millions of visitors each year flocking to the mountains for outdoor recreation. The area includes the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Nantahala National Forest, the Pisgah National Forest and numerous State Forests. Most of Western North Carolina is wilderness and offers an abundance of recreational opportunities from mountain climbing to whitewater rafting. Other major natural attractions include the Appalachian Scenic National Trail and the Blue Ridge Parkway, both of which pass right through the mountains.


Your best resource for relocation or
vacation planning! 
Asheville & the North Carolina mountains!

A proven travel guidebook that will pay for
itself by saving you time and money!

388 pages!! Over 40,000 copies sold!
A best seller for over 25 years!

THE #1 Best Seller On Amazon


    The unique character of the Western North Carolina mountains is such that Congress has even designated them a National Heritage Area, and the region is now officially recognized as the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area There are 24 counties in Western North Carolina with a total population of over 1,000,000. The region covers approximately 11,000 square miles and is roughly the size of the state of Massachusetts. There are over 80 mountain peaks between 5,000 to 6,000 feet in elevation, and 43 that rise to over 6,000 feet.

Map of the Western North Carolina Mountains

While statistics show that violent crime is up in Asheville, the number of violent crimes seem to be going down in WNC. Violent crime charges can vary from state to state, so you can read more about this topic on each state's own government website.



All Content Copyright by Lee James Pantas
All Rights Reserved
Contact The Author        Advertising On This Site